Love Your Site Or Get Your Money Back-30-Day Guarantee included

Multiple Logins for your Website Forge Member's Area
January 3rd, 2007 at 10:16 am   starstarstarstarstar      

Over the last couple years more and more customers have been asking for the ability to provide additional logins with restricted access to their Member's Area.  Generally the reason was to divide the content management tasks among several people in the organization while maintaining the final control over Publishing the site.

 

 We recently added a sub-account feature that is in beta testing.  So now you can provide restricted access to certain pages and features within your web site.

 

 For example -- if you would like someone from your order fulfillment center to only access the order list and not access any other portion of the site you can simply create an account with this set of restrictions.

 

 We are looking for about 10 total beta testers.  Beta testers will receive this feature for free while in the beta testing stages.  We have 3 beta testers so far.  Please contact support@websiteforge.com if you wish to participate.

 

Shane Merem
www.websiteforge.com
Website Design and E-commerce

admin says:
January 3rd, 2007 at 10:59 pm   starstarstarstarstar      

Hi Brian. Were "Feedback Forms" enabled for that user? If not it shouldn't open.

admin says:
January 3rd, 2007 at 11:00 pm   starstarstarstarstar      

Brent. I'm not denying your "Editor Control". I'm just suggesting a better way to do it.

 

If it shows "User X has made changes to pages a,b and c" when you login. That should be enough info for you to go check the pages before publishing. Right?

 

I just think an email is the wrong way to do it. Anyone else have a better or different idea?

admin says:
January 3rd, 2007 at 11:00 pm   starstarstarstarstar      

Hi Olivia. I've enabled up to 10 sub accounts for you :)

Brent says:
January 3rd, 2007 at 11:14 pm   starstarstarstarstar   Edit   

Shane,

 

I am just thinking of "other" users, you know that I will be working on the site all the time and checking at least a couple if not a few times a day to see the changes and can publish accordingly. I am just thinking about the site admin that may not check daily but might need to publish changes that have been made while he/she has not been online is all. I suppose that in those situations whomever makes the changes would need to email or notify the site admin somehow so that the changes were made aware to him/her for publishing. I suppose trying your idea is fair enough and it can always be tweaked if necessary down the road. :)

 

I am just glad to know that only the site admin has the authority to publish.

 

Take care,

 

Brent

Andy says:
January 4th, 2007 at 1:00 am   starstarstarstarstar      

Brent,

 

This is not possible for a number of technical reasons:

 

One other thing I got to thinking about…

 

right now you have the login for sub-account users required to be from the main WebsiteForge panel, but wouldn't it make sense to have a login panel on the ACTUAL site for sub-account holders to be able to login to? This way if a site owner had remote workers all they would have to do is to go to the companies website to login rather than other companies site to gain access, also for sites such as mine, I want to allow the leaders of the different communities that will be on my site the ability to login and change information about their particular page(s) and would like them to be able to do so from my site rather than having to send them to WebsiteForge and have to explain to them why they are redirected and so forth.

Andy says:
January 4th, 2007 at 1:10 am   starstarstarstarstar      

Brent,

 

This is not possible in the near future either:

 

2. Will you also have some notification to the site admin once a page has been changed/added/deleted so that they can review and re=publish the site?

 

Also, a clarification on the following comment you made:

 

But I do see your point about the trust… and I agree with it, I was just looking at it from a human point of view so that any mistakes could be caught before publishing. Am I to understand then that whenever a sub-account holder goes into their page(s) that once they save them they are published, or at least they have the ability to publish from their page(s)? If that is the case, then does it only publish those pages or does it republish the whole site? Because if it is the latter, then you could potentially have a whole slew of unfinished pages or pages in status of change published to the live site… and then you really would have a problem. Which again points back to my idea of having one person in charge of making sure the site pages are ok to publish and then having the final authority to publish the site or those individual pages at the very least.

 

Publishing is NOT possible on a per-page basis, this is due to inter-related nature of objects a site consists of (pages, frames, modules, and page content - links on pages etc.). Publishing can only be done for a site as a whole. So if you do not trust your employees, you will have to disable Publish Site button for them altogether (we are going to add that feature within a week or so) and probably review their work prior to publishing on your own.

Andy says:
January 4th, 2007 at 1:12 am   starstarstarstarstar      

Brian,

 

I'm not sure what you mean here. Can you maybe contact our tech support with details/screenshot to give me a better idea?

 

I would like to see the persons name in the sub account while you are working on it. Like most people who run a store and a website and moonlight light as a paramedic sometimes I need to walk away from the computer to do something else and when I come back I can forget who's account I was working on.
Brian

admin says:
January 4th, 2007 at 8:02 am   starstarstarstarstar      

I think instead of publishing only certain pages Andy. They can just disable the page if it's not ready to publish for now. This will effectively remove the page.

 

We can worry about what page to publish later. In fact in the future (probably quite a ways in the future) when you push the publish button we will probably only publish changed pages to save time. But this is complex and will be a while to change in the system.

 

Brian was just saying when you add a sub-account to add a name to it. However I think the name should be articulated in the account name. But to add a Name Label is not a bad idea incase you have generic logins like "orders" or "news".

Brian says:
January 4th, 2007 at 8:10 am   starstarstarstarstar   Edit   

Andy,
Yes I did have feed back forms checked it still does the not expand branch thing.
Sub accounts:
Pretend I just created a sub account, now it shows I am logged in under my login but is does not show who's account I am working on unless I go back to the sub accounts page.
Brian
ps How do I send a screen shot? I hit printsc now what do I do to get it lol??? This is my blonde moment guys :)

Andy says:
January 4th, 2007 at 8:55 am   starstarstarstarstar      

Brian,

 

I believe you are talking about Sub-accounts :: Permissions screen. We will add indication of the sub-account (Login ID) you are working on.

 

As to taking screenshots. After you hit PrtSc (or actually you can do it before as well :), run the Paint image editor (under Accessories group of standard windows application), hit Paste there (Ctrl+V), then do Save As (specify file name and format... preferably GIF or JPEG, the default BMP will be huge in size), then attached the saved file to the email (not sure you can post a file to blog).

 

I guess there may be a less-steps way to attach images to emails... but I just tried that in Outlook Express and it didn't work for me.

 

Take care,
Andrew

Name * 
Email * 
Rate This Post  
Spam Protection 
Send to Kindle
Archives
 

Call Today!  We can answer all of your questions and get you a price over the phone just by answering a few questions!

1476738831_logo_social_media_phone 231-266-0606